Social Distancing and Mental Health - How to Stay Positive During Coronavirus Self-Quarantine

03/18/2020

Restaurants, bars, and gyms are closed. Social gatherings, events, and festivals are canceled. Flights, plans, and activities have been rescheduled. Thanks to the COVID-19 outbreak, we have no idea how long this will last. "This isn't fair! What the hell am I supposed to do?" was my initial thought. I'm a busybody, extrovert, and I have a strong passion for fitness, so the thought of "social distancing" or "self-quarantine" truly scared me because I didn't want this to negatively affect my mental health. I do have days where I enjoy my alone time, but this will probably drive me insane. I had a moment where I completely broke down, but after about 5 minutes of sulking and feeling sorry for myself I had to stop and remember that I'm not alone, analyze why this is happening, and remind myself that I have no control over this situation. My feelings were selfish and I wasn't considering the impact or danger that coronavirus could have on so many people - or possibly even myself or my own family - if we don't distance ourselves for a while. This is only TEMPORARY. So why waste my time moping around? It isn't going to change a damn thing.

After binge-listening to David Goggins podcasts and interviews (which I highly recommend if you ever feel down - he's real AF), I stopped feeling sorry for myself. Sure, it'll be hard. It'll test my mental strength. I might have days where I feel like I'm going crazy. But it ISN'T the end of the world!! Even if it may seem like it right now. Instead of looking at this new "social distancing" requirement as an obstacle, I'm looking at this as an opportunity. Instead of asking "why is this happening?" I asked myself "how can I make this benefit me and what can I learn?" I choose to look at the positives rather than the negatives because once you change your perspective, you can change your feelings. Your life is made up of your thoughts - if you choose to think about this as a terrible thing, then it will be. If you choose to think about this as a temporary lifestyle change and try to make it as fun as you can, then it WILL BE. I decided to make a list of why I'm grateful for this *opportunity* and I'll review this list every time I start to feel down. A few things on my list were:

  • I have less commute time, which equals more free time
  • I can sleep in a little longer
  • It forces me to be present and mindful
  • I don't have to meal prep (lol I hate meal prepping/eating out of tupperware)
  • I have more quality time with my doggo
  • I can make my self-care a priority

Also, with coronavirus all over the news and social media, it's hard not to let it consume your thoughts. I found myself uncontrollably anxious and obsessively thinking about all of the negative impact it has had. Life is still going on and although this is a serious and frightful virus, you are still allowed to enjoy your life. So I decided to make a different list of things to keep me busy or entertained that aren't damaging to my mental health. Some of these were:

  • Read my self-development books
  • Meditate
  • Paint or draw - tap into my inner creative
  • Write (such as right now, wassup!!)
  • Journal
  • Enjoy nature (go for a walk or hike if you can!)
  • Take a free online class to learn a new skill
  • Limit my social media time
  • Utilize FaceTime or phone calls
  • Watch things that educate me or make me laugh
  • Listen to music and dance my heart out

This is a great time to take a social media break and reconnect with my inner-self - and hey, since we're all in this together, that eliminates FOMO (fear of missing out). Even though I can't go out and be social right now, that doesn't mean I still can't have fun and live life. In addition to those lists, I've prepared myself to create a daily schedule to make life feel a little more normal and I already have a few home workouts planned to look forward to! Now is the time to appreciate the little things because no matter how bad the situation, life could always be worse. Although this coronavirus situation is scary, it's important to remain calm, grateful, and think as positively as you can. It may not be easy, but it's possible. Remain hopeful. Life truly is what you make it, so choose to make it enjoyable.

Feel free to leave a comment of how you're dealing with this and making the most out of this situation. Let's help each other!


Maddie "tha baddie" Jenkins
All rights reserved 2019
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started